Five sad Christmas songs. Do not play!

I love Christmas. I love Christmas songs. I despise these songs though…

Five sad Christmas songs Mingle Around will NOT be adding to our holiday singles party soundtrack.


1. Wham! Last Christmas… with lines about tearing a heart apart, who wouldn’t add this song to their “Do not play” list?

2. Elvis. Blue Christmas… “I’ll be so blue with out you. Christmas won’t be the same if you’re not here with me” These are lyrics that just don’t bring a smile to my face.

3. Please Come Home for Christmas by Charles Brown…. “My babys gone, I have no friends…” Just downloading this youtube video to embed to the blog already brought tear to my eye. Warning! Do not play this song!

4. What Do the Lonely Do for Christmas? By The Emotions…. “I know it’s joy to the world, but it’s sad for me” What do the lonely do? They don’t listen to songs like this!

5. The Christmas Shoes. All the little boy wants is to buy a pair of shoes for his dying mother on Christmas eve. Come on song writers…. let’s write happier songs! “Daddy says there’s not much time…” Hello Tear Jerker.

What songs am I missing? Merry Christmas everyone!

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Steve  On December 11, 2011 at 8:33 pm

    The one song you left off is “Happy Christmas” by John Lennon. Although its not supposed to be a sad song, Its sad to me because it brings back bad memories of the commercial they used it for many years ago that I watched as a kid. I don’t recall much, but i think it was some third world hunger charity campaign. They showed images of starving kids of Africa as this song played in the background and this has stuck in my head all these years. It’s quite ironic too, because the song and the title itself, suggests hope! Its still a downer to me!
    ~Steve

  • nova0311  On December 16, 2011 at 3:55 am

    How about “Same Old Lang Syne” by Dan Fogelberg? If you listen to the lyrics, it’s pretty sad. The two run into each other on Christmas Eve, not New Year’s Eve. It always makes me think about lost love and “the one that got away.”

    Oh, and I like the Eagles’ version of “Please Come Home for Christmas” better than Charles Brown’s. Yes, I said I like a cover more than the original. Mark this day down.

Leave a Reply

