About last night…

I hosted a Singles “Nuts & Bolt’s” party. As usual I was nervous as could be. It is stressful throwing a party, let alone a party with over 150 guests who all have the same goal and have paid me to help in finding it.

Two of my “cupids” had family emergencies (my heart goes out to both of them) so I was already down on my help, this was only my second event in Chicago since moving back from good ‘ol Tennessee… I forgot my pens… I lost a bag of nuts on the way in… my heels were killing me.  Oh… and it just started snowing HEAVY. After handling these emergencies I finally got the bar set up, tables arranged with mints on the tables, lit the candles and set up the name tags and placed the nuts and bolts out. I was nervous, but I was ready to rock! The remaining cupids showed up, my photographer arrived early and things were looking great. Looks like my bad luck was over and the good luck was starting to roll in because the singles started arriving at 7pm.

 By 7:30 we had about 30 singles ready to mingle. By 8:00 we had close to 100 and at 8:15 we surpassed our RSVP count and were over 150 singles. WOW!!!  The nuts and bolts party was in full swing. You had a 1 in 5 chance of finding a match and everyone was searching for that match. I had bought extra large and extra small bolts and the matching nuts so it’s fun to watch the guy with the TINY bolt trying to make a fit to the lady with the gigantic nut! Always guaranteed for a few laughs. A few of the singles were a bit shy and hung out in the back, just observing but I noticed after about 30 minutes these shy singles were out there shoving their bolts into nuts and nuts into bolt, laughing and cracking up with everyone.

The people:  Talk about a melting pot!  I had Brazilians with sexy accents, cowboys with sexy hats, cougars looking for boy toys, sales executives, lawyers, a  doctor, a veterinarian, two school teachers (both of them were HOT!), sexy ladies in their 40’s and 50’s, three police officers, sexy men in their 40’s and 50’s, a few people in their early 60’s, college girls, a brewery owner,  frat boys, Hispanics, African-Americans, Caucasians, Jewish guys and gals, Catholic guys and gals, a Wiccan, Republicans, Democrats, a lot of 30-39 year olds, a firefighter, a brick layer, two office managers and someone who works for Groupon. I had “matchmaking” form that people filled out; it’s so neat to see how different we all are, but how similar we all are too.

The raffle tickets were a bit of a hassle. Being down two Cupid’s, I had to utilize only one raffle ticket and nuts/bolts exchange station. Trust me, it got crowed. Finding a match is great, but getting a raffle ticket for cash, Victoria’s Secrets presents, gift cards and perfumes can be the icing on the cake… and no one wanted to miss out on this!  I’ll make sure the next event has two raffle stations.

My Cupid, Colleen, mentioned at the end of the night that she saw two people leaving together hand in hand. I received a phone call this morning (a little too early – and you know who you are!) thanking us for the night. She and he went out to grab a bite to eat and to talk a bit more. She says that he walked her back to her car around 1am, gave her a quick kiss goodbye and then sent her an email 30 minutes later saying how great it was to meet her! They have plans for next weekend. I love hearing this. It makes everything worth while.  This love connection wasn’t the only one. I personally saw 3 (THREE!) couples getting close on the dance floor and maybe even swap a kiss at the end of the night (I notice everything!). I wish them the best of luck and tell them to call me if there is a love connection!!!  A few people told me that they exchanged phone numbers and many people told me how much fun it was and how different a Nuts & Bolts party is compared to a typical night out.

About the bar:

Houndstooth Saloon  is one of my favorites. The decor is cute and sexy, the music is great and the drink specials are outstanding. The only problem is all the singles had winter coats, but no coat room. Another issue (my fault) is the bottle neck that happened when you walked in. We had placed the check in tables to close to the entrance and caused a bit of a hold up. Live and learn, right? I thought my cocktail waitress was right on it- even with all these customers she was friendly and sweet. She also kept asking me to find her a date, and I’m going to keep my word and find her someone sweet. I’d love to do more events here in the future.  

Over all, the night was great. I personally met some awesome new friends and made some love connections. More events are coming; I hope to see you at the next one!

Visit us online at :

MingleAround.com

Meetup.com/MingleAround

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

